This Kind of Writing

I’ve been attempting to improve “this” style of analytical writing since I enjoy analysis of anime and just most all art I consume. As I’ve been doing this though, it’s become evident that I kind of suck at writing coherently for things like this. I love being swept up in the romantics of writing and going all-out on the fantastical and artistic side, but this conflicts with normal analysis-style writing often since the point is to write in such a way that you can communicate your interpretation of an artwork to someone else. I’m not so sure that I can do this.

The other big point of uncertainty is that I usually don’t have that much to say about a show? Often I have ideas for why I like some aspect of some anime or manga, and the idea is complex enough to take up 500 words, but I’d love to be able to go full-out Hearts of Furious Fantasies style with the 10,000 word posts. I think I do have that much to say about my favorite shows, but I don’t have that much to say at a given time. I tend to be pretty binge-y, both with how I consume media and how I create media, so if there’s a central idea I want to have to a post I have to write it all at once. The only feasible way for me to make a real and lengthy analysis of Hourou Musuko or Kuragehime is to just make a whole bunch of mini-posts and then compile them into something larger, which would have the disadvantage of being totally disconnected from part to part. I’d just be compiling a whole series of completely separate ideas about a show. That’s all.

So what should I do? I don’t think I’ll hear from you guys, since nobody reads me right now and I’m not putting myself out to be read yet. I’m still in the practice stage! I feel more comfortable practicing and then letting people see my past work once I’ve made something good, but I have yet to make something I feel confident about it being good.

Leave a Reply

