On Content Creation

I feel like society has started putting a stronger focus on the creators of works and their personality and personal lives. For example, the media attention that has been brought to the Wachowskis (I really want to call them Wachowski sisters, but that is not a go as of now) and the two of them being transgender is a lot more than media attention put on Alfred Hitchcock’s or Orson Welles’ personal lives. This is particularly noticeable with YouTube. I watch YouTubers half for the videos they create and half for the people that they are, and I think a lot of other people are the same way.

Now, I don’t think this is too revolutionary, but it is interesting to notice how important it is nowadays — particularly for independent artists — to have a good personality. I am confident that me as a person to be friends with or whatever is a plentifully interesting person who people like, but I’m not confident that this can transfer over to the Internet. If I want to go forward with blogging or put any of this onto YouTube in the future, one of my biggest worries is that I might not come across as interesting to people watching my videos.

I have plenty of quirks, both in speech and in actions, but I really don’t know if that’s enough to make me memorable or stand out. This is compounded by the fact that I’m not really *that* nerdy I guess? Like, I’ve seen my fair share of anime and manga and played games and whatever, but most of my time is taken up by academics and dancing. I’m kind of a nerd on the side. Often what appeals to audiences on the Internet is the cool and confident nerd who is still unashamedly nerdy. Confidence requires some building up so I can’t really expect too much of myself there, but am I really enough of a nerd to do this?

I guess what this boils down to is I’m worried I’m too normie for the interwebs.

Leave a Reply

