Madarame’s Big Resolution

Ah. At last, it is all over.
I’ll be honest, I thought there was a chance for MadaHato to be a reality. A slim one at that. But now Genshiken is telling us how silly it is to think anything other than this would happen. The excuses that Madarame made up as to why he couldn’t date any of them are just to cover the reality: He doesn’t love them. Sure, they’re all beautiful, but there’s no point in being with a beautiful person if you don’t feel a spark.

It’s disappointing to be brought out of a fantasy, and that’s what all this was. The fantasy of a bunch of Fujoshis. But let’s be honest, I like Hato’s character so much that I don’t want to see the two run off into the distance with conflict resolved and never see them again. Speaking of Hato, they seem to be doing pretty well. All this about fantasy and reality, just as they said, and of course you have to come back to reality some time.

Well, I’m sure that MadaHato did have a real — but slim — possibility. The two did seem genuinely interested in one another. And it’s better that it didn’t become a reality because, again, MadaHato would’ve ended Hato’s character arc and the two would’ve become minor characters. This way we get to see what happens to Hato for real going forward. I’ll be honest, I don’t want to see them with Yajima since that’s already in Spotted Flowers. In fact, I’d be pretty disappointed to see that twice. Not to say the couple is uninteresting, but it’s not exactly a creative resolution.

Ahhh. Now I have to wonder since Yajima and Hato being a couple is a real possibility: Is Madarame going to magically get together with Saki and Spotted Flowers becomes canon? Probably not, but it is possible now I suppose?

I’d say more disappointing than MadaHato being a reality is that Hato isn’t interested in men. Sure, if the plan is for Hato to be transgender, then you hit two rather than one on the LGBT list.

EDIT: Haha! Just kidding. Y’all probably know by now but it was a possible mis-translation. Hato, you will love a man again. Hato, you will love a man again. Hato, you will love a man again. Hato, you will love a man again. Make mama proud.

It’s funny. Reading this series got me curious about BL and I am now legitimately interested in it, so to see the BL fantasy end feels like closure I don’t want to see in my own fantasy world. I’m aware that all the BL is played up for humor, and it is funny, but simultaneously I wanted to see it sincerely.

So, where do we go from here? This is the first Genshiken arc that I’ve read as the chapters come out. It’s time to move on. What new members will we see? What fun new things will they do? Will there be yaoi? Will there be yaoi? Will there be yaoi?

Leave a Reply

